Guestbook| Registration
WEF | OWEA | E-Mail
Home| Awards!| Executive Committee| Committee Chairs| Industrial Waste| Plant Operations| Lab Analysis Committee| YP's| Policies|
SWOWEA Online!
Downloads and Links:
› "Nearly Free" Plant Ops Seminar, June 2 › The WAVE! Spring Edition › YP Update › SWOWEA Contact Hours
Tracking List
› Executive Committee Duties › Rules and Regulations › OWEA Website
Membership Application
› WEF website
Get Adobe Reader
Navigate this site
Home Executive Committee Industrial Waste Plant Operations

Welcome to the Southwest Section of the Ohio Water Environment Association (OWEA)! OWEA is a non-profit, wastewater related organization with nearly 2000 members dedicated to the preservation and enhancement of our most precious natural resource ... WATER.

Founded in 1926, OWEA has grown to meet the challenges of our ever-changing environment. OWEA is one of the early members of the Water Environment Federation, an international federation of member associations with over 35,000 members worldwide and 81 affiliated Member Associations. WEF represents an additional 50,000 water quality professionals throughout the world. As a member of WEF, OWEA enjoys the benefits of all the resources and relationships of an international organization and proudly work to achieve the mission of preserving and enhancing the global water environment.

OWEA is divided into four Sections, each having its own governing structure. These sections, which generally consist of the four corners of the state, allow these areas further involvement with the affairs of their particular region, and offer members an opportunity to participate in our Association without extensive travel. This also offers members the ability to work closely with others in our profession, offer peer support, discuss problems and arrive at appropriate solutions.

Our members consist of Scientists and Laboratory Specialists, Engineers, Treatment Plant and Collection Systems Personnel, Manufacturer's Representatives, Educators, Students, and Regulators. We work through committees and publications.

Southwest Section Bulletin Board:

Thank you to everyone who attended our last section meeting in Fairfield. It was a beautiful day for a tour and the technical sessions were very informative. The first picture below is Jason Tincu during the Technical Session. The other two pictures are from the business meeting. They show Roger Rardain receiving his presidential plaque. Thanks Roger for all you've done for the section!!

Jason Jason Roger Roger

Registration for the VERY popular "Nearly Free" Plant Operations Seminar is now CLOSED! As usual, this seminar filled up quickly! Thankyou to all who registered early! See the link to the left for more information.

Have you seen The Parameters performing Loose Wheel? Check it out at The Parameters.

The Spring edition of the WAVE is out. Check out the link to the left to get all the latest information about what is going in the Section!

Check out the YP Update in the downloads section to the left! Did you know that as a Young Professional you could receive a $50 gift card just for attending a Section Meeting? Did you also know that you can receive free contact hours and PDH's, meet other YP's in the industry and have a great time doing it? It's all TRUE! Contact Kelly Kuhbander for more info. Her contact information can be found under the Committee Chairs tab above!

Contact Hours! The SWOWEA tracks all contact hours that were obtained through the section. The list can be found under the links to the left. If you need to check on contact hours that were obtained through the OWEA, check the link on the OWEA website

Past Presidents! The annual Past President's luncheon was held on December 11, 2015 at Parmizzano's in the Dayton Marriott. Pictured below are the presidents that attended the 2015 luncheon. See how many you can name in the picture below! They are the ones to thank for the strong organization we are today. The SW Executive Committee appreciates these past presidents for laying the groundwork to develop a strong section with competent leaders!

Pictured below are:

Standing: Steve Durell, Gary Haubner, Carl Gatton, Tom Brankamp, Dan Sullivan, Dan Levitt, Charlie Moore, Dan Martin, Don Cuthbert, Steve Laffel, Dave Reimer, Ernie Stickler, and Gary Johnson

Sitting: Barb Swafford, Chuck Lenhart, Kathy Cook, Debbie Schafer, Barb Wagner and Lynn Marshall

2015 Past Presidents

SWOWEA Events Calendar: